21 Stages of Meditation

The 21 Stages of Meditation are a wonderful journey to the depth of your Self: Meditations in the tradition of Kundalini Yoga, open for all.

Yogi Bhajan describes three journeys, each comprised of seven stages, taking you step by step into a deeper level of awakening and realization. We will move through the rudimentary skills of meditation to the deeper levels of awareness and integration and finally into identity, projection and merger in the infinite pulse of creation.

  • First Journey: The Crystallised Self

  • Second Journey: The Expressive Self

  • Third Journey: The Transcendent Self

The course is open to all, also to practitioners of other tarditions.
For the KRI Level 3 program, 21 Stages of Meditation is part of the intensive group meditation requirement.

Meditation is your first habit. Every human should meditate to keep the mind clean. Meditation is nothing but cleansing the mind through a process. You will take a bath so that you may not stink, but if you don’t take a bath and you put on cologne, you will stink differently. Meditation is the cleansing of the mind so that mind can tell you who you are.

Yogi Bhajan

Why 21 Stages of Meditation?

The real question is why do we practice in the first place?
By articulating and describing each of the 21 Stages of Meditation, we have attempted to put into words the states of consciousness that are traversed by those who use the power of meditation to enhance their lives through the pursuit of happiness and peace of mind.

The meditations that guide us through the stages on the journey to realisation are designed to follow the natural structure and qualities of each stage. The experiences of one stage support the progress in the next stage. You can explore any of the stages on your own as an individual practice. The benefit of each meditation stands on its own; but the added benefit of practicing an entire journey comes from the intensity of the practice when done in sequence, within a concentrated period of time and in a community of practitioners.

The goal is clear: happiness.
The nature of meditation is well-defined: Refine the mind and elevate your awareness.
The path is open: Deepen your meditation through each of the 21 Stages of Meditation in order to reach that intangible quality we call realisation.

In this course, we will engage in a 3-part meditative journey:


The Crystallized Self.

The focus of the first journey is to recognise, experience and crystallise the Self. The blocks are encountered in the first four stages: upset, boredom, irritation and frustration. The first ascent starts when we have a sense of our Self, separate from all the commotions, emotions and sensory impulses; we begin to focus and recognise a still point, a nucleus within, which is the Self.
It is this crystallised sense of Self that is needed in order for consciousness to work.


The Expressive Self

In this second journey, the initial challenge is to develop a sensitivity to the Self, as we engage in relationships and participate in life. When we take the seed of our Self and our identity and project it into the world, it expands. In this second journey, we cultivate the meditative skill to merge with our projection yet still be able to distill our Self from the various roles we play; in this way, this second journey prepares us to maintain our integrity in action and ultimately to find the stillness within every action.


The Transcendent Self

We recognise all that we are as the formless presence of the infinite, transcendent Self. By forging an elevated identity with our infinite Self within our finite self, we become spontaneous, creative and flexible. We excel in this infinite game of the soul. Love, compassion and kindness become the core of our experience: We become the nothing within the centre of all that is. Mystery is now mastery. The sacred space opens up to intuitive presence, which serves innocence, loves life, blesses all, and praises the Infinite, the all within All. You become you, nothing more, nothing less  – a realised human beings.



  • April 09-11, 2021: Third Journey


  • September 15-22, 2021
  • A real retreat:
    Meditate in a beautiful mountain ressort, the mediterranean sea at your feet.
  • Experience the profound three journeys with time to rest & digest.
  • wide open space for teaching (protected against bad weather)
  • accommodation also possible in single rooms

More Info

Sat Naam

21 Stages of Meditation in Pelion (Greece)

In this intensive three-part meditation retreat, tools and experiences are available for you to expand your meditation practice.
The course gives you the key to deepen your understanding and a fundamental recognition of yourself.

Yogi Bhajan described three journeys, each comprising 7 phases of meditation. These 21 levels guide you step by step to the subtle core of mindfulness and awareness – the pulsation of the infinite.

“Make meditation the art of life, the science of life.
Because only then can you develop intuition.
– Yogi Bhajan

The first journey: your crystallized self
The second journey: your expressive self
The third journey: your all-encompassing self

You will graduate with an international certificate from the Kundalini Research Institute.

The course is open to all meditators.
If you are at the beginning of your practice, it gives you an important basis for your meditation practice.
The course gives you new insights and techniques for your yoga classes.
If you have experience in other yoga and meditation directions, it will expand your understanding of meditation and open new doors of perception.

The 21 Stages of Meditation give you a basis for a deep understanding and a new relationship with yourself – even if you have been teaching for years.

September 15-22. 2021
Please arrive at Pelion Homes to start the Course at 3 pm on September 15th.
The Course ends at 3 pm on September 22nd.

Pelion Homes
Agios Georgios Nilias, Pelion | Greece
t: +30 210 9216779,
e: info@pelionhomes.com
Pelion is an absolute natural paradise!
A mountain dotted with picturesque traditional villages and fringed by mesmerizing beaches!
Greece as you never have seen.

Airports: Volos, Thessaloniki, Athens.

Teachings fee:
Early bird until April 18.2021: 530.-€
Normal price after April 18.2021: 650.-€
The normal price offers the possibility to pay a deposit of 300.- € by April 18, 2021, and the rest (350.-€) in cash directly to Pelion on the first day of the Course.

Food and accommodation:
Per person, full board, 7 nights in a double room with all comforts:
Early bird until April 18.2021: 504.-€
Normal price after April 18.2021: 578.-€

Per person, full board, 7 nights in a double room in one private villa with all comforts:
Early bird until April 18.2021: 578.-€
Normal price
after April 18.2021: 651.-€

For booking the Course:
For booking food and accommodation:

Looking forward to seeing you there!!


Book your place!

2 + 6 = ?